ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration Supportauto start of MQ in Docker container not working

Post new topicReply to topic
auto start of MQ in Docker container not working View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
pcelari
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:21 pm Post subject: auto start of MQ in Docker container not working Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 336
Location: New York

Hello,

while experimenting MQ in docker container, generally successful, I have been unable to get the QMGR start upon start of the container.

With a qmgr QMGR setup in the docker image with listener at port 1414, the qmgr simply will not start despite I instructed the Dockerfile to start the qmgr with the following instructions:

FROM mq:9.0
CMD /opt/mqm/bin/strmqm QMGR

or

CMD ["/opt/mqm/bin/strmqm QMGR"]

or

CMD ["/opt/mqm/bin/strmqm", "QMGR"]

But none of the above works - the qmgr is not not running upon start of the container. So, I'm really lost! Has anyone been successful in getting the qmgr running at start of a container?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

-p
_________________
pcelari
-----------------------------------------
- a master of always being a newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 12:14 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 18951
Location: LI,NY

you did not specify which version of MQ...
What if you source the MQ environment in your script before running the start queue manager command ?. What is the userid you are trying to run this script under?
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 4:36 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17059

fjb_saper wrote:
you did not specify which version of MQ...

pcelari wrote:
FROM mq:9.0

fjb_saper wrote:
What if you source the MQ environment in your script before running the start queue manager command ?.


I don't know if the mq:9 docker image already does this,but it doesn't hurt to put
Code:
RUN[". /opt/mqm/bin/setmqenv <setmqinst options>"]

before your CMD
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pcelari
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:21 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 336
Location: New York

thanks for the input!

The way I build the base image mq:9.0 was by manually installing MQ v9 inside a running Ubuntu container, performing the sourcing, create the gm QMGR. I then then commit the container into the image mq:9.0

when the base container mq:9.0 starts, the qm QMGR can be started manually with the normal command "strmqm QMGR". so the sourcing step is already complete.

QMGR starts fine if I run the strmqm command manually by either mqm or root

The build command output says "successfully build". Just the QMGR doesn't start upon container start. Since there seems to be no error from MQ side, there isn't any entry indicating any cause.
_________________
pcelari
-----------------------------------------
- a master of always being a newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 4:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17059

Change your CMD to an ENTRYPOINT ?
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration Supportauto start of MQ in Docker container not working
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.