ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » BAR generated without new changes

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 BAR generated without new changes « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
sandios
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 7:11 am    Post subject: BAR generated without new changes Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 13 Jun 2016
Posts: 27

I have a problem with generating the BAR files.
I have an ANT script that uses mqsicreatebar to generate the BAR files.
In some cases, the generated BAR file is not compiled with any changes that have been made to the code. Raising the BAR file generates well.
That could be happening?

Code:

     [echo] [2016/11/23 14:15:17.970] BAR: barFile.bar
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:36] [INFO] CommandProcessor: parseArgs { Adding file to compile list: flow.msgflow }
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:36] [INFO] CommandProcessor: process { mqsicreatebar arguments: }
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:36] [INFO] CommandProcessor: process { [-trace, -skipWSErrorCheck, -b, barFile.bar, -p, Project1, Project2, Project3, -o, Project1/flow.msgflow, -wmbtData] }
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:36] [INFO] CommandProcessor: process { Disable auto-build before opening the projects }
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:36] [INFO] CommandProcessor: openWorkspace {  }
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:36] [INFO] CommandProcessor: openWorkspace { List of projects to be processed: Project1 ,Project2 ,Project3 }
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:37] [INFO] CommandProcessor: process { Enable auto-build after the projects are opened }
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:37] [INFO] CommandProcessor: waitForBuildsToComplete { Waiting for build to complete }
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:54] [INFO] CommandProcessor: process { Skip the workspace error check }
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:54] [INFO] CommandProcessor: doCompile {  }
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:54] [INFO] AddToBARFileOperation: barGeneratorDelegate { Adding Project1/flow.msgflow to broker archive file }
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:55] [INFO] AddToBARFileOperation: barGeneratorDelegate { Adding Project1/.classpath to broker archive file }
     [exec] [2016/11/23/14:15:56] [INFO] CommandProcessor: saveBar {  }
     [exec] BIP0986I Command completed successfully.


Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

Can you be more specific with your problem?
You did not specify the parameters being passed to your build process...
Have you tried using -cleanBuild in all cases?

Are you sure you are using the latest source, when you run mqsicreatebar?

_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
sandios
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 13 Jun 2016
Posts: 27

Parameters

Code:

      <exec executable="${toolkit.home}\mqsicreatebar.exe" spawn="false" vmlauncher="false" failonerror="true"  logError="true">
         <arg value="-trace" />
         <arg value="${vcleanBuild}" />
         <!--arg value="-skipWSErrorCheck" /-->
         <arg value="-data" />
         <arg value="${dirBase}" />
         <arg value="-b" />
         <arg value="${NameBAR}" />
         <!-- List all the message flow projects -->
         <arg value="-p" />
         <arg line="${depProjs}" />
         <!-- List all the files to be included in the archive -->
         <arg value="-o" />
         <arg line="${msgFlows}" />
      </exec>
 


-cleanBuild is very slow... i cant cleanBuild.

First BAR file have old changes..... Second BAR file have new changes...

This is random, 5% of the deployments

workspace problem random?... metadata is new.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

I'm sure that the -trace slows things down quite a lot.

You could run mqsicreatebar with -compileonly, and then run it normally (or mqsipackagebar).

But it sounds like your process isn't pulling in changes from your source control properly.
_________________
chmod -R ugo-wx /
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

sandios wrote:
Parameters

Code:

      <exec executable="${toolkit.home}\mqsicreatebar.exe" spawn="false" vmlauncher="false" failonerror="true"  logError="true">
         <arg value="-trace" />
         <arg value="${vcleanBuild}" />
         <!--arg value="-skipWSErrorCheck" /-->
         <arg value="-data" />
         <arg value="${dirBase}" />
         <arg value="-b" />
         <arg value="${NameBAR}" />
         <!-- List all the message flow projects -->
         <arg value="-p" />
         <arg line="${depProjs}" />
         <!-- List all the files to be included in the archive -->
         <arg value="-o" />
         <arg line="${msgFlows}" />
      </exec>
 


-cleanBuild is very slow... i cant cleanBuild.

First BAR file have old changes..... Second BAR file have new changes...

This is random, 5% of the deployments

workspace problem random?... metadata is new.

Thanks.


It's not cleanBuild that's slowing you down. It is however keeping all that .metaData around. In my ant script, I has a part that deleted the .metaData before any build. So that only the metadata necessary for the build was rebuilt...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
timber
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Aug 2015
Posts: 1280

I would add that mqsipackagebar is a *lot* simpler and faster than mqsicreatebar. It does not load up an entire headless Eclipse instance in order to do the compilation. On the downside, this means that the projects do not get re-validated as a side-effect of building the BAR file. But arguably, if you are committing code into your version control system when it does not compile then you have bigger problems than your choice of command-line build tool

In order to use mqsipackagebar, everything in the project must be 'deployable'. So message sets, Java and user-defined subflows must be built using mqsicreatebar before running mqsipackagebar.
http://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSMKHH_10.0.0/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/bc31730_.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sandios
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 13 Jun 2016
Posts: 27

Thanks,

Quote:

It's not cleanBuild that's slowing you down. It is however keeping all that .metaData around. In my ant script, I has a part that deleted the .metaData before any build. So that only the metadata necessary for the build was rebuilt...


How do you delete the metadata in the ant script?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

sandios wrote:
Thanks,

Quote:

It's not cleanBuild that's slowing you down. It is however keeping all that .metaData around. In my ant script, I has a part that deleted the .metaData before any build. So that only the metadata necessary for the build was rebuilt...


How do you delete the metadata in the ant script?


Simple Ant delete task... look it up on google and the Ant doc.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
sandios
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 13 Jun 2016
Posts: 27

Thanks...


Is it possible that this error is for generating the patches with a different version of javahl that uses the toolkit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sandios
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 13 Jun 2016
Posts: 27

If I compare the two BAR files generated. The first file occupies less than the second file (the one that is well created with the new changes)


Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sandios
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 13 Jun 2016
Posts: 27

Do you have any idea why the first BAR occupies less space? I think the first BAR is generated with old code, but the patches have been correctly applied in the deployment.
This error occurs in 10% of the deployments.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

What are you using to supply source to mqsicreatebar?
_________________
chmod -R ugo-wx /
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sandios
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 13 Jun 2016
Posts: 27

I do not know if I understood you correctly ...

The deployment is performed with ANT, the flows to be deployed and their dependencies are indicated and executed as indicated above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

sandios wrote:
I do not know if I understood you correctly ...

The deployment is performed with ANT, the flows to be deployed and their dependencies are indicated and executed as indicated above.


Where does the workspace containing the flows and dependencies come from?

This is the place to look for why the bar files are different - because the code available to Ant is not fully there.
_________________
chmod -R ugo-wx /
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sandios
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 13 Jun 2016
Posts: 27

The workspace that is indicated to ANT is the complete workspace with the code. The code should be patched with the latest modifications (SVN).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » BAR generated without new changes
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.