ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Clustering » how to test QM clusters and workload balancing

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 how to test QM clusters and workload balancing « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
mqprimerib
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:56 am    Post subject: how to test QM clusters and workload balancing Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 30 Mar 2016
Posts: 34
Location: Detroit Rock City

So I have my environment all setup and now I want to test workload balancing. I want to make sure I open the queue with BIND_NOT_FIXED but I don't see an option in MQ Visual Edit's put server for that. I looked at amqsput but I'm not sure how to force it to NOT_FIXED.

Does anyone know the syntax to do this in amqsput or another utility I can use for simple testing?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 7:00 am    Post subject: Re: how to test QM clusters and workload balancing Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

mqprimerib wrote:
Does anyone know the syntax to do this in amqsput or another utility I can use for simple testing?


The amqsput sample takes the queue bind setting.

Also amqsput is not a utility, it's a sample. You want it to do something else, change it.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Bind option is a queue attribute. Alter the QLocals to specify NOT_FIXED.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tczielke
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guardian

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 939
Location: Illinois, USA

For what it is worth, you can specify the open option in amqsput with the third command line option:

Code:
 /*   AMQSPUT0 has the following parameters                          */
 /*       required:                                                  */
 /*                 (1) The name of the target queue                 */
 /*       optional:                                                  */
 /*                 (2) Queue manager name                           */
 /*                 (3) The open options                             */
 /*                 (4) The close options                            */
 /*                 (5) The name of the target queue manager         */
 /*                 (6) The name of the dynamic queue                */


Here are the open options listed in their hex values:

Code:

0x00000001  MQOO_INPUT_AS_Q_DEF
0x00000002  MQOO_INPUT_SHARED
0x00000004  MQOO_INPUT_EXCLUSIVE
0x00000008  MQOO_BROWSE
0x00000010  MQOO_OUTPUT
0x00000020  MQOO_INQUIRE
0x00000040  MQOO_SET
0x00000080  MQOO_SAVE_ALL_CONTEXT
0x00000100  MQOO_PASS_IDENTITY_CONTEXT
0x00000200  MQOO_PASS_ALL_CONTEXT
0x00000400  MQOO_SET_IDENTITY_CONTEXT
0x00000800  MQOO_SET_ALL_CONTEXT
0x00001000  MQOO_ALTERNATE_USER_AUTHORITY
0x00002000  MQOO_FAIL_IF_QUIESCING
0x00004000  MQOO_BIND_ON_OPEN
0x00008000  MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED
0x00010000  MQOO_RESOLVE_NAMES
0x00020000  MQOO_CO_OP
0x00040000  MQOO_RESOLVE_LOCAL_TOPIC
0x00040000  MQOO_RESOLVE_LOCAL_Q (C++ only)
0x00080000  MQOO_NO_READ_AHEAD
0x00100000  MQOO_READ_AHEAD
0x00200000  MQOO_NO_MULTICAST
0x00400000  MQOO_BIND_ON_GROUP


If you just wanted to just specify MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED for the open option, that would be 0x00008000 = 32,768.
_________________
Working with MQ since 2010.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 2:29 pm    Post subject: Two different possibilities Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1914
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

You have all the answers in the above responses, but in case it is not clear, please note you have two different ways of providing the Bind options for an application using a cluster queue.

Your application can explicitly specify the bind option:
  • MQOO_BIND_ON_OPEN
  • MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED
  • MQOO_BIND_ON_GROUP

Or if your application does not do this, then it is essentially saying MQOO_BIND_AS_Q_DEF which tells the queue manager to look at the queue definition (AS_Q) to find the default (DEF) bind option.

The default bind option is found in the queue attribute DEFBIND. This queue attribute is *ONLY* used if the application has not explicitly provided one of the above bind options.

So you have two different ways to solve your problem when using the amqsput sample.

1) Specify the MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED (value 32768) in addition to the options already used by the amqsput sample. If you look in the sample code you'll see these are MQOO_OUPUT and MQOO_FAIL_IF_QUIESCING which the comment beside them tells you adds up to a value of 8208. Parameter 3 when you run the amqsput sample needs to be the total of these numbers, that is 32768 + 8208 = 40976.

So you'd run amqsput as follows:-

Code:
amqsput q-name qmgr-name 40976


2) Alternatively, you can issue the following MQSC command on *EACH* of your queue managers hosting the cluster queue:

Code:
ALTER QLOCAL(q-name) DEFBIND(NOTFIXED)


I hope that your options are now clear to you.

Cheers
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Clustering » how to test QM clusters and workload balancing
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.