ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Application ServerUsing a network sprayer

Post new topicReply to topic
Using a network sprayer View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 4:51 am Post subject: Using a network sprayer Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24537
Location: Ohio, USA

WAS 8.5 and WMQv7.5

Here's a basic question for people:

We use a hub-and-spoke queue manager topology for applications that don't have heavy duty messaging requirements. We have a number of queue managers that act as hubs, and applications connect via a SVRCONN with all the usual security features to a given hub.

To increase resilience and scale load, we're putting the connections through an F5 so that the applications now connect to thisapp.vitorisawesome.com(2414) and this resolves to either qmgr1.vitorisawesome.com or qmgr2.vitorisawesome.com(2414) in the usual way.

I'm being told by some of our WAS based applications that this won't work in WAS because "the WAS admin console" requires you to enter a queue manager name as well as a host name and port number, and for 50% of the connection requests they'll end up on the wrong queue manager. When asked to prove this, they provided some kind of Java-looking log with a lot of 2059 errors in it.

So is it the case that WAS can only connect to a single named queue manager, like CICS on z/OS? If so, what solutions have others used to provide resilience other than one WAS instance per queue manager with the code identically deployed to each?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 4:56 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17446

They're confused.

You should not need to put a qmgr name in the JNDI definition.

So they can remove thisapp.thatguyisconfused.com(2414).
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 5:21 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 24537
Location: Ohio, USA

mqjeff wrote:
They're confused.


They're something.

mqjeff wrote:
You should not need to put a qmgr name in the JNDI definition.


which is the thing they're setting in this console?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 5:35 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17446

They're probably setting the qmgr name on the RA.

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSFKSJ_8.0.0/com.ibm.mq.dev.doc/q031680_.htm?lang=en

Or otherwise on the qmgr name field in the JDNI definition.

It's a standard MQ configuration choice. QMGR name or Channel/host/port.

Ask them to show you exactly where they are setting it, and what tells them they have to set it.
_________________
Read, Think, Try, Repeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Application ServerUsing a network sprayer
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.