ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Clustering » Cluster Q Alias not working from remote client

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Cluster Q Alias not working from remote client « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
shawnruff
PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:27 am    Post subject: Cluster Q Alias not working from remote client Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 2

Running MQ 6.0.2.5 in a cluster.

Created a Cluster Q Alias (Name: TEST.QA) on our Gateway Server (member of the cluster) and Cluster Q Local (Name: TEST) other members of the Cluster, used as the BaseQ for the QAlias. When I place a message in the TEST.QA locally from MQ Explorer or using another tool locally, message goes from TEST.QA into one of the TEST cluster Q's. Now when a remote Q at another site specifies our TEST.QA as the rname in their remote Q, the messages go to our dead letter Q instead of one of the BaseQ listed in the Alias. The error is MQRC_UNKNOWN_ALIAS_BASE_Q, but this only happens when coming from another remote Q to our QA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

What remote queue manager name do they specify?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shawnruff
PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 2

Here are the scripts for my MQ cluster
On the Gateway QM

Code:
define qa(TEST.A.B.REQUEST.QA) cluster(TESTCLD1) +
defpsist(yes) defbind(notfixed) targq(TEST.A.B.REQUEST) +
replace


On the Back-end QM's

Code:
define ql(TEST.A.B.REQUEST) cluster(TESTCLD1) +
defbind(notfixed)
replace



Here are the scripts for the remote MQ

Code:
define qr(TEST.B.A.REQUEST) xmitq(TESTQMA) +
rqmname(TESTQMA) rname(TEST.A.B.REQUEST.QA) +
replace



Cluster Q Alias: TEST.A.B.REQUEST.QA
Cluster Q Local (BaseQ for Alias): TEST.A.B.REQUEST

Remote Q: TEST.B.A.REQUEST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

I apologise for being ambiguous - I meant what remote queue manager is specified when the message is put and ends up on the DLQ.

You might also find this thread helpful
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Vitor wrote:
I apologise for being ambiguous - I meant what remote queue manager is specified when the message is put and ends up on the DLQ...


This one - TESTQMA - if I'm reading the post correctly, but the names shawnruff has posted in the first post do not correlate to the definitions posted next.

shawnruff, I'm not sure why you've specified a QA that's shared in the cluster as the alias. Any particular reason you do not wish to define an 'empty' QR named TESTQMA in the Gateway, and use the actual queue name as the RNAME?
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

exerk wrote:
shawnruff, I'm not sure why you've specified a QA that's shared in the cluster as the alias. Any particular reason you do not wish to define an 'empty' QR named TESTQMA in the Gateway, and use the actual queue name as the RNAME?


Security.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

mqjeff wrote:
exerk wrote:
shawnruff, I'm not sure why you've specified a QA that's shared in the cluster as the alias. Any particular reason you do not wish to define an 'empty' QR named TESTQMA in the Gateway, and use the actual queue name as the RNAME?


Security.


True. I'm still not sure why the QA is shared in the cluster though...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
juanjosemr
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 01 Sep 2014
Posts: 1

Hi shawnruff.
How you fixed it?
Could you share the solution.
Thanks

shawnruff wrote:
Here are the scripts for my MQ cluster
On the Gateway QM

Code:
define qa(TEST.A.B.REQUEST.QA) cluster(TESTCLD1) +
defpsist(yes) defbind(notfixed) targq(TEST.A.B.REQUEST) +
replace


On the Back-end QM's

Code:
define ql(TEST.A.B.REQUEST) cluster(TESTCLD1) +
defbind(notfixed)
replace



Here are the scripts for the remote MQ

Code:
define qr(TEST.B.A.REQUEST) xmitq(TESTQMA) +
rqmname(TESTQMA) rname(TEST.A.B.REQUEST.QA) +
replace



Cluster Q Alias: TEST.A.B.REQUEST.QA
Cluster Q Local (BaseQ for Alias): TEST.A.B.REQUEST

Remote Q: TEST.B.A.REQUEST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Clustering » Cluster Q Alias not working from remote client
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.