ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » mqrc 2539 in mq v7.5 - MaxChannels problem

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 mqrc 2539 in mq v7.5 - MaxChannels problem « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
sebastia
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:15 am    Post subject: mqrc 2539 in mq v7.5 - MaxChannels problem Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 1003

Dear coleagues : something is wrong in mq v 7.5 API ...

Let me explain : I have a (delphi) program that does mqconnx() to a mq v 7.5 on linux 32-bit.

I start the program, and it connects perfectly.

I stop the queue manager, change qm.ini to have

Code:
 MaxChannels=20000


... and when I start the queue manager, and try to connect from my program, I receive MQRC = 2539 meaning "MQRC_CHANNEL_CONFIG_ERROR"

The problem is reproducible 100% :

MaxChannels=200 -> mqconX() = ok
MaxChannels=20000 -> mqconnX() rc = 2539

Any ideas ?

Sebastian.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Try a smaller increment, like 400, 800, 1200, ... to see where it breaks.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

Have you tried with 2,000? 20,000 may be too much for your hardware...
There are limitations....
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
sebastia
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 1003

Thanks, guys !

I was doing it right now ...

The results are :

>>> 16.910 is OK
>>> 16.920 is KO

What now ?

Sebastian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sebastia
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 1003

HW is

Model xSeries 236
MT = 8841-11Y

A bit old, but ... good enough for me !

()
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sebastia
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 1003

mr SAPER : I do "define" the Max value to be 20.000,

but the error is on FIRST mqConnX() call !!!

Have a good wekend !
Sebastian.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

sebastia wrote:
Thanks, guys !

I was doing it right now ...

The results are :

>>> 16.910 is OK
>>> 16.920 is KO

What now ?

Sebastian


Great. So you found your hardware limit. You might be able to stretch that some more with additional memory unless you're already at the max...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
sebastia
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 1003

mr SAPER, I am not saying you are wrong, but ...
... when I define this value to qmgr, we do have no error,
neither memory is allocated, I guess.

The error is produced when I establish THE FIRST SVRCONN channel.

Do you realy think at this specific moment a big amount of memory is allocated fot ALL 16.000 control blocks ?

And a bit further : what is the meaning of the error message ?

I find "MQRC_CHANNEL_CONFIG_ERROR" quite inapropiate ... if some hardware limit has been reached, I mean, the software has to be prepared to manage it properly.

if I issue a "new()" statement, I also code "try" and "OnError" ...

Guess I'll have to open a PMR ... jajaja

Thanks for your help.

Sebastian.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

my take on it is that it tries to allocate slot x of y and realizing that y is beyond the OS capability returns some kind of error. Therefore it does not matter whether x is 1 or y as it looks for a y array and gets something line an outofbounds exception.... or object does not exist exception ....
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
sebastia
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 1003

ok, I agree it is possible to work this way, yes

but I think the code has to be fixed to catch the offbound error and return an appropiate RC

more on monday ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

I couldn't replicate this error on win/xp pro (vmware) with 1024meg on WMQ v7.0.0.0. I set MaxChannels and MaxActiveChannels to 32767.

How much RAM is allocated to the LPAR? How many qmgrs in the LPAR? How many channels are defined to the LPAR? How many channels are defined in the qmgr that is failing?

The error seems to make some sense, given the virtual nature of modern o/s's. Perhaps at the time of WMQs request for (virtual) storage to satisfy the new MQCD, the o/s couldn't provide it.

Was this logged in the Windows log?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebastia
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 1003

hi, mr Bruce

The machine has no LPARs, it is an old xSeries 236.

I dont remember the RAM right now - will tell tomorrow morning,
but there is only one Queue Manager, and it has just 2 SVRCONN channels for me, plus all the "system" objects.

Cant look into Windows log, as it is a Red Hat linux .. jejeje

More hw/sw details tomorrow 12 .. CET.

Sweet dreams. Sebastian.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ramires
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 24 Jun 2001
Posts: 523
Location: Portugal - Lisboa

I've just installed a v7.5 on a Fedora (I had a 7.0... before). Got the same error when using Maxchannels=16913. This is the test I did:

Code:
[mqm@fc14rami bin]$ cat /var/mqm/qmgrs/FEDOQM1/qm.ini | grep -i max
  MAXCHANNELS=16913        ; Maximum number of channels allowed, the
  MAXACTIVECHANNELS=16913  ; Maximum number of channels allowed to be active at
[mqm@fc14rami bin]$ strmqm FEDOQM1
WebSphere MQ queue manager 'FEDOQM1' starting.
The queue manager is associated with installation 'Installation1'.
5 log records accessed on queue manager 'FEDOQM1' during the log replay phase.
Log replay for queue manager 'FEDOQM1' complete.
Transaction manager state recovered for queue manager 'FEDOQM1'.
WebSphere MQ queue manager 'FEDOQM1' started using V7.5.0.0.
[mqm@fc14rami bin]$ ./amqscnxc -x localhost -C CL.TCP
Sample AMQSCNXC start
Connecting to the default queue manager
using the server connection channel CL.TCP
on connection name localhost.
MQCONNX ended with reason code 2539


Looks like a bug.

I tried the same test against a v7.5 on windows and no error there.
_________________
Obrigado / Thanks you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

sebastia wrote:
hi, mr Bruce

The machine has no LPARs, it is an old xSeries 236.

I dont remember the RAM right now - will tell tomorrow morning,
but there is only one Queue Manager, and it has just 2 SVRCONN channels for me, plus all the "system" objects.

Cant look into Windows log, as it is a Red Hat linux .. jejeje

More hw/sw details tomorrow 12 .. CET.

Sweet dreams. Sebastian.

I suppose you mean x286. Antique iron, to say the least.

Use post-POST BIOS to determine physical memory.

Use the appropriate UNIX commands to interrogate virtual memory allocation inside the o/s.

Search Sr. Gogle for hardware specifications of the pc to discover RAM maximum.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ramires
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 24 Jun 2001
Posts: 523
Location: Portugal - Lisboa

well... I missed a very basic thing , and also you mr Sebastia! Check errors logs:

I have:

AMQ6024: Insufficient resources are available to complete a system request.

and a FDC

Code:

+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
|                                                                             |
| WebSphere MQ First Failure Symptom Report                                   |
| =========================================                                   |
|                                                                             |
| Date/Time         :- Sun October 21 2012 21:27:34 EDT                       |
| UTC Time          :- 1350869254.152463                                      |
| UTC Time Offset   :- -240 (EST)                                             |
| Host Name         :- fc14rami.labtest                                       |
| Operating System  :- Linux 2.6.35.14-106.fc14.i686                          |
| PIDS              :- 5724H7224                                              |
| LVLS              :- 7.5.0.0                                                |
| Product Long Name :- WebSphere MQ for Linux (x86 platform)                  |
| Vendor            :- IBM                                                    |
| Installation Path :- /opt/mqm                                               |
| Installation Name :- Installation1    (1)                                   |
| Probe Id          :- XY132002                                               |
| Application Name  :- MQM                                                    |
| Component         :- xstCreateExtent                                        |
| SCCS Info         :- /build/p000_P/src/lib/cs/unix/amqxstex.c,              |
| Line Number       :- 535                                                    |
| Build Date        :- Jun  4 2012                                            |
| Build Level       :- p000-L120604                                           |
| Build Type        :- IKAP - (Production)                                    |
| Effective UserID  :- 501 (mqm)                                              |
| Real UserID       :- 501 (mqm)                                              |
| Program Name      :- amqrmppa                                               |
| Addressing mode   :- 32-bit                                                 |
| LANG              :- en_US.UTF-8                                            |
| Process           :- 18698                                                  |
| Process(Thread)   :- 18832                                                  |
| Thread            :- 5                                                      |
| ThreadingModel    :- PosixThreads                                           |
| UserApp           :- FALSE                                                  |
| ConnId(1) IPCC    :- 92                                                     |
| ConnId(3) QM-P    :- 430                                                    |
| Last HQC          :- 3.0.0-1521836                                          |
| Last HSHMEMB      :- 0.0.0-0                                                |
| Major Errorcode   :- xecP_E_NO_RESOURCE                                     |
| Minor Errorcode   :- OK                                                     |
| Probe Type        :- MSGAMQ6024                                             |
| Probe Severity    :- 2                                                      |
| Probe Description :- AMQ6024: Insufficient resources are available to       |
|   complete a system request.                                                |
| FDCSequenceNumber :- 1                                                      |
| Arith1            :- 4294967295 (0xffffffff)                                |
| Arith2            :- 22 (0x16)                                              |
| Comment1          :- Failed to get memory segment: shmget(0x00000000,       |
|   33558528) [rc=-1 errno=22] Invalid argument                               |
| Comment2          :- Invalid argument                                       |
| Comment3          :- Configure kernel (for example, shmmax) to allow a      |
|   shared memory segment of at least 33558528 bytes                          |
|                                                                             |
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » mqrc 2539 in mq v7.5 - MaxChannels problem
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.