ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportBIP2066E when deploying

Post new topicReply to topic
BIP2066E when deploying View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
NickB
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2001 4:52 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 20 May 2001
Posts: 107
Location: Zurich Financial Services

I'm having tremendous problems currently when deploying execution groups. I continually get error messages complaining about the execution group not responding in a timely manner. I've recreated the config qmgr to increase log sizes but this hasn't helped. I'ved checked the error logs on the AIX broker qmgr but again there is nothing forthcoming. syslog just repeats the BIP2066E error message and doesn't give me any more help.

I've stopped and restarted the broker and I've even gone as far as clearing down the SYSTEM.BROKER.* queues as the whole system got in a real mess.

Is there anything else I can look at?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2001 4:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5651
Location: UK

Please post your MQSI level include CSD level, this applies to any problem report here really.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
craigd
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2001 4:11 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Guest




I had the same problem with an AIX broker. Often I could fix the problem by dumping out the MQSeries logs.
Back to top
shcherb
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2001 7:37 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 12 Sep 2001
Posts: 34

Hi,

I am having the same problem. What can I do ? How can I dump MQSeries logs ?
Please help ! It is very urgent.
Vladimir
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
EddieA
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:02 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 28 Jun 2001
Posts: 2453
Location: Los Angeles

Hi all,

I have seen a very similar problem at a customer I was working at on an AIX broker.

Basically, re-deploying message flows would throw the (one of) the execution groups into a CPU loop.

Next time this happens, run a 'top' or a 'ps' and see if any of the execution groups is sucking CPU. If it is, then you can 'kill' it and MQSI will recover. You may have to 'kill' all the execution groups for a full deploy. BEWARE. This does NOT clean up the database connections to the Broker database, so you may end up running out of handles.

If anyone is seeing this and it is repeatable, then PLEASE report it to IBM. My previous customer, for some reason, decided not to pursue this once I had finished my engagement with them.

Cheers,

_________________
Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2001 2:15 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5651
Location: UK

You may need to increase the max heap size:

Increase the max heap size for the Configuration Manager JVM to 256Mb:
Stop the Configuration Manager if it is running:
Via Services (Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Services) OR
Using the mqsistop configmgr command
Update the NT registry to set the JVM max heap size:
Start the NT registry (enter regedit at a command line)
Select HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREIBMMQSeriesIntegrator2ConfigMgr
Add new string value MaxJVMHeapSize:
Edit -> New -> String Value
Rename to MaxJVMHeapSize
Right click and select Modify:
Enter 268435456 in Value data and click OK
Restart the Configuration Manager
Via Services (Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Services) OR
Using the mqsistart configmgr command
Restart the Brokers
Via Services (Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Services) OR
Using the mqsistartbroker command
-----

Make sure the MQ logs are big enough to store the deploy during the transaction. Add more secondary logs (since you can't change the size after install - thanks IBM!).

-----
If it's urgent - open a PMR with the support centre.


[ This Message was edited by: zpat on 2001-11-14 14:18 ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mpuetz
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2001 4:16 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 05 Jul 2001
Posts: 149
Location: IBM/Central WebSphere Services

Hi folks,

the BIP2066 happened to us as well with 2.0.2 on AIX 4.3.3.
For us it was related to DB2 V7.1. The following steps needed to be done to fix it:

1.) increased dbheap to 1200
2.) increased app_ctl_heap to 1024
3.) most importantly upgrade to FP 4 !
(it is really a DB2 bug, the upgrade
is tricky, follow the instructions
with great caution. Should be done
in a testing environment first)

For large MQSI deploys you should eventually
monitor DB2 to set the parameters 1 and 2
correctly for your applications. The values
I quoted were sufficient for us, but they need not be sufficient for you.

Mathias Ptz
IBM-EMEA AIM Services
MQ/MQSI Specialist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportBIP2066E when deploying
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.