ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Clustering » Round Robin Algorithm

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Round Robin Algorithm « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
sysnemr
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:17 am    Post subject: Round Robin Algorithm Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 29 Oct 2001
Posts: 30
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

I have got 3 OS/390 repository queue managers and cluster queues on it.
Other non-repository queue managers in same cluster are on WIN NT machines. The NT queue managers communicate with 3 repository queue managers. The third OS/390 repository queue manager is new. Repository queue managers has got cluster queues with same names. So, when application on NT puts message to the cluster queue the message is delivered to cluster queues with Round Robin algorithm. I noticed that some NT queue managers avoid to send messages to the third repository.
This is obvious looking the message counter on cluster channels. To solve this problem I deleted the queue maneger and removed that queue manager from cluster. After that I create the same queue manager once again and added it once again to cluster. After that the Round Robin algoritm works as expected or messages are in the same way delivered to cluster queue s with same names on repository queue managers. Message counters on cluster channels look as expected. Does anybody know how to solve this problem without deletion of WIN NT queue managers because I have got to much WIN NT queue managers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bduncan
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2002 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

Is your NT application using MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED or MQOO_BIND_ON_OPEN ????
_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
sysnemr
PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2002 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 29 Oct 2001
Posts: 30
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

We doesn't have either MQOO_BIND_ON_OPEN or MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED. I found in the book the sentence:If you do not specify either MQOO_BIND_ON_OPEN or MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED, the default option is MQOO_BIND_AS_Q_DEF. So, we have default option MQOO_BIND_AS_Q_DEF. So, with the same application on every NT box how to explain that on some queue managers application puts messages only to one repository queue manager not to all 3 available repository queue managers and on the other queue managers application normally puts as expected on all 3 repository queue managers to its cluster queues? The cluster queues on repository queue managers have got same names.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bduncan
PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2002 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

How are all instances of this clustered queue defined with respect to bindings? In other words, if some are bind on open, and others are bind not fixed, then depending on which one your application actually opens (which will always be a round robin) any subsequent MQPUTs may or may not go to different instances of the queue.
_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
sysnemr
PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2002 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 29 Oct 2001
Posts: 30
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

The definitions of cluster queues are same on all 3 repository queue managers and one of them is as follows:

-+P1 DIS QL(BANKE) ALL
CSQM201I +P1 CSQMDMSG DIS QLOCAL DETAILS
QUEUE(BANKE)
TYPE(QLOCAL)
STGCLASS(DEFAULT)
CLUSTER(CL_ZP1)
CLUSNL( )
DESCR( )
PUT(ENABLED)
DEFPRTY(0)
DEFPSIST(YES)
OPPROCS(82)
IPPROCS(1)
CURDEPTH(1)
MAXDEPTH(999999999)
PROCESS(BANPROC)
TRIGGER
MAXMSGL(4194304)
BOTHRESH(0)
BOQNAME( )
INITQ(C1ZP.INITQ)
USAGE(NORMAL)
SHARE
DEFSOPT(SHARED)
MSGDLVSQ(PRIORITY)
RETINTVL(999999999)
TRIGTYPE(EVERY)
TRIGDPTH(1)
TRIGMPRI(1)
TRIGDATA( )
DEFTYPE(PREDEFINED)
NOHARDENBO
CRDATE(2002-12-01)
CRTIME(18.53.4
GET(ENABLED)
QDEPTHHI(80)
QDEPTHLO(40)
QDPMAXEV(ENABLED)
QDPHIEV(DISABLED)
QDPLOEV(DISABLED)
QSVCINT(999999999)
QSVCIEV(NONE)
INDXTYPE(CORRELID)
DEFBIND(OPEN)
ALTDATE(2002-12-05)
ALTTIME(18.28.55)
CSQMDMSG END QLOCAL DETAILS
CSQ9022I +P1 CSQMDMSG ' DIS QLOCAL' NORMAL COMPLETION

I see cluster queue atribut DEFBIND(OPEN). What should we have defined here to put messages from NT boxes to all 3 repository queue managers and its cluster queues ? For example we have got BANKE queue on all
repository queue managers. We would like to receive messages with Round Robin Algorithm on BANKE cluster queues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bduncan
PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2002 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

That's your problem. DEFBIND should NOT be OPEN. You need to change it to "not fixed" but I can't remember off the top of my head what the parameter name is (NOTFIXED?), so you should look in MQSeries Administration manual before changing it. You're basically forcing the applications to bind to a single instance of the clustered queue once they open it, rather than re-resolving the queue (and getting a new instance of it) everytime an MQPUT is made.
_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
sysnemr
PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 29 Oct 2001
Posts: 30
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Thank you for help. I will change cluster queue attribute DEFBIND(OPEN) to DEFBIND(NOTFIXED) and try what happens after this. I don't understand how I didn't see this problem before because I tried to send messages before getting to production with amqsput sample application and it seemed to me well or the amqsput put messages to cluster queues as I expected to 3 repositories ( 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 and so on).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bduncan
PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

Perhaps because the amqsput program had MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED instead of MQOO_BIND_AS_QDEF...
_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Clustering » Round Robin Algorithm
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.